Starting my trip in Boston

Thursday morning I got on a Greyhound bus to Boston. I took me all day to get there but it was worth it. In Boston I stayed with Jess. She welcomed me warmly into her home, I felt at home right away 🙂

The next day I took my time and walked the freedom trail. The freedom trail is a walking trail (it’s actually marked on the ground as a red line) which brings you to all the historic landmarks in Boston, most of them related to the revolution in the 1770ies. I really enjoyed it because I didn’t have to think about reading maps, I just followed the red line and concentrated on what I saw and read about the sights in a leaflet they gave me.

My personal highlight was definitely where they printed the Boston version of the declaration of independence. (THE declaration was printed in Philadelphia which is why the Boston version is not as well known although it has exactly the same content.) There was a guy that explained the whole history behind the declaration and showed us the original printing press and the printing process. For 17$ you could buy a print printed on the original paper and with the original inc but since I did’t want to buy one, I sneaked out before he came to the promotion part 😉

My favourite building was the public library. So beautiful, not only from the outside…

At the end of the trail I took the public ferry back to central Boston as recommended by a friend of mine. Not many people knew about the ferry and I am really grateful for the tip. I costs only about 3$ and you can enjoy the Boston skyline from the water which is pretty cool.

WP_20160422_012

It’s only a short ride. Just enough time to take some pictures of the skyline 🙂

Leave a comment