Chasing the moon at Cape Cod

Saturday afternoon I took a bus to Hyannis, Cape Cod. My Couchsurfing host Alex picked me up at the bus station. I left my stuff at his house (he lives in a small beach house in Hyannis) and went exploring. Alex showed me all his favourite spots and we drove around for almost 5 hours.

He showed me this amazing spot, a small river where the Herring jump up “stairs”. He told me that it was still a little early. A week later there would be thousands of fish jumping and seagulls trying to catch them. I tried to film the jumping process but I’m not sure if I can upload the film for you to see it…

Alex took me all the way to Provincetown which is located at the very outer corner of Cape Cod. It’s a town known for its gay community and diversity. It’s a beautiful place, small restaurants and art galleries…

WP_20160423_018

After the sun had set Alex told me how beautiful it would be when the moon rises from the ocean. It had been a full moon just the day before and that day the moon was supposed to rise around 9pm. So we drove all the way to Alex’s favourite spot to see the moon rise we saw the stars sparkle all over the sky but then we realised that it was cloudy just at the horizon where the moon was supposed to rise and we couldn’t see the actual moonrise…

Besides the ocean Cape Cod has a lot of lakes and ponds. We walked around one of them the next morning. I love this picture…

WP_20160424_005

Leave a comment