New York, New York

Well, what can I say… So many impressions, so many experiences, so many people – just wow

I got to New York last Tuesday and stayed the first two nights at Charles’ and Sarah’s. They are both friends of Andrea, my former flatmate who lives in LA. I am so grateful I could stay with Charles and Sarah. They are both wonderful and so very welcoming hosts! They live in a lovely apartment on the upper east side close to Central Park.

On my first day in NYC the weather was perfect for sightseeing and I was busy doing that all day. I walked the high line, took the Staten Island ferry to see the Statue of Liberty, walked through the Financial District, went over to Brooklyn and walked through Brooklyn Hights where the old and beautiful brownstones are, walked over the Brooklyn Bridge while the sun was about to set…

The next day I met my aunt Kristina from Hamburg. She and my uncle Harald were in town for a trade fair. While Harald was busy at the trade fair Kristina and I went to see the MET (the Metropolitan Museum). You have an astonishing view from the roof top of the MET since it’s located in Central Park without any tall buildings around.

In the evening (after dinner with Kristina and Harald) I met Tai, my host for the other two nights in NYC. He also lives in Manhattan, in East Village which is a neighbourhood with lots of bars and restaurants. We went to a jazz bar which made me feel like being in the 50ies, the singer even had a mustache 😀 And don’t you think the drummer looks just like Jason Statham?

IMG-20160429-WA0005-1

The day before I went back to DC I did a walking tour together with Harald and Kristina called “Brooklyn Unplugged”. That was pretty cool, we got to see a lot of street art, local businesses and the guy gave us lots of background information on Brooklyn.

After that I went to see Grand Central Terminal, which is definitely my favourite building in NYC. You have this beautiful hall with the blue ceiling and lots of decorations but if you enter the area where the actual tracks are you feel like in a completely different building! It has more of a behind-the-scenes character or the character of a basement – and there is no one there!

And one more thing: I definitely found my favourite museum as well. I went to the MoMA (Museum of Modern Art) on Friday evening because they have free entrance on Fridays after 4pm. Sure, I wasn’t the only one who had that idea but still. This museum is absolutely amazing. I will definitely got back there, pay the 25$ admission fee and take my time to soak it all in.

Maybe I’ll even do that when I’m back in NYC with my Embassy colleagues next weekend 🙂

Leave a comment